Long Term Planning Framework. Community preparedness and risk reduction 2012-2015

Originally published
View original


  1. Who are we?

The community preparedness and risk reduction function (CPRR) is comprised of a multidisciplinary team dedicated to supporting the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) and member National Societies in helping vulnerable households and communities to become safer and more resilient in the face of new and existing threats and risks. Every year, droughts, floods, cyclones, earthquakes, wildfires and other hazards affect over 267 million people around the world.1 Climate variability is expected to increase the frequency and severity of natural hazards, thus heightening the vulnerability of communities to cope with the devastating impact of disasters. Furthermore, increased urbanization is slowly changing the nature of risk thus necessitating the adaptation of existing risk reduction strategies and tools. Widespread environmental degradation exacerbates existing vulnerabilities and drivers of risk while concurrently limiting people’s ability to cope with and recover from disasters. In response to these challenges, CPRR provides critical capacity and resources for National Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies to effectively meet the growing needs of vulnerable communities and reduce their exposure to risk.

Strategically, we are guided by Strategy 2020, which outlines the IFRC’s overarching direction and goals. At its core, Strategy 2020 inspires members and staff to do more, do better, and reach further. This translates into focusing particularly on the quality and scale of programming.

CPRR activities support the three strategic aims of Strategy 2020, with a greater focus on strategic Aims 1 and 2, specifically:

  1. Save lives, protect livelihoods, and strengthen recovery from disasters and crises.
  2. Enable healthy and safe living.
  3. Promote social inclusion and a culture of non-violence and peace.

The CPRR team provides support for the following programme areas:

  • community-based disaster preparedness

  • disaster risk reduction (DRR)

  • climate change adaptation and mitigation

  • food security, nutrition and livelihoods.