The 2010 HAP Standard in Accountability and Quality Management [EN/AR]


Geneva, 31 January 2011 - HAP International released today the 2010 HAP Standard in Accountability and Quality Management, a revised and improved version of the 2007 HAP Standard . The HAP Standard helps organisations design, implement, assess and recognise programmes that are accountable to, and deliver quality for, communities affected by disasters, conflicts, poverty and other crises. It is a practical tool that assists in organisational development and in bringing about positive change. The HAP Standard is also at the core of the HAP certification scheme: a thorough and independent auditing process that verifies and acknowledges organisations in compliance with the Standard.

The 2010 edition of the HAP Standard is the result of an extensive review process that involved wide consultation with different stakeholders, including crisis-affected communities, aid workers and donors. Over 1,900 people in 56 countries contributed to the review process and the preparation of the 2010 edition, bringing to the process authentic experiences from different perspectives. The HAP Board, authorised by the HAP General Assembly, approved the 2010 edition on 20 October 2010.

The 2010 HAP Standard reflects learning from the application of the 2007 edition and recent developments in accountability and quality management in the humanitarian sector.

According to Steve Darvill, Executive Director of the CDA (Collaborative for Development Action) Collaborative Learning Projects, "Quality and accountability are not simply about doing things more effectively and efficiently. When people are affected by crisis they lose many things but they don't automatically have to lose respect or dignity. The 2010 HAP Standard will hopefully encourage agencies to act with more humility and create more space for the voices of those we seek to assist."

When does application of the new Standard start?

Organisations are encouraged to start applying the 2010 edition immediately. However, with the launch of the 2010 HAP Standard in January 2011, a 48-month transition period commences with regards to HAP capacity building services and certifications. In practice, this means that:

until the end of January 2012, HAP will offer baseline analyses and certification audits against either the 2007 or 2010 editions of the Standard;

after January 2012, all capacity building services offered by HAP and all certifications issued by HAP (new certifications or re-certifications) will be against the 2010 Standard; and

after January 2015, existing certifications issued under the HAP 2007 Standard will no longer be valid.


Summary of changes from the 2007 edition (pdf, 264 Kb)

Feedback from HAP members on earlier drafts (excel, 145 kb)

For more information go to the following web pages:

The 2010 HAP Standard

Frequently Asked Questions about the 2010 Standard

Transition to the HAP 2010 Standard

About HAP

Established in 2003, HAP is the humanitarian sector's first international self-regulatory body. There are currently more than 60 member agencies of HAP.

HAP runs the leading global quality assurance scheme for humanitarian agencies. Organisations can apply for certification as a form of quality assurance of their compliance to the HAP Standard in Humanitarian Accountability and Quality Management. Certification provides assurance to disaster survivors, staff, volunteers, host authorities and donors that the agency will deliver the best humanitarian service possible in each situation.


Monica Blagescu, Policy Services Coordinator, e-mail:

Nathalie Perroud, Communications Manager, e-mail: