President Declares A Major Disaster For Wyoming

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

Release Date: July 22, 2011
Release Number: HQ-11-119

» More Information on Wyoming Severe Storms, Flooding, And Landslides

WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to Wyoming and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, flooding, and landslides during the period of May 18 to July 8, 2011.

Federal funding is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, and landslides in the counties of Albany, Big Horn, Carbon, Crook, Fremont, Goshen, Johnson, Lincoln, Platte, Sheridan, Sublette, Teton, Uinta, Washakie, and Weston, and the Wind River Indian Reservation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Mark H. Armstrong has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Armstrong said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Follow FEMA online at,,, Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Modified: Friday, 22-Jul-2011 18:15:51