Five Counties Added to Arkansas Disaster Declaration

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

Release Date: May 8, 2011 Release Number: 1975-003

» More Information on Arkansas Severe Storms, Tornadoes, And Associated Flooding

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – Federal disaster assistance has been extended to Arkansans in five more counties as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began April 23, the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Crittenden, Madison, Montgomery, Phillips and Washington counties join Benton, Clay, Faulkner, Garland, Pulaski, Randolph, Lincoln and Saline counties under the disaster declaration signed by President Obama on May 2. This declaration allows for eligible residents to receive federal assistance in the form of grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-interest disaster loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the storms and tornadoes.

"We are very pleased that FEMA responded so quickly to our request to add counties to the disaster declaration," said State Coordinating Officer David Maxwell. "This will help us rush assistance to our local families and businesses."

Federal Coordinating Officer Nancy M. Casper said the assistance was approved based on a review of damage data gathered by FEMA, ADEM and local officials in the affected counties.

"We urge Arkansans in these additional counties to register with FEMA as soon as possible because we have teams of people on the ground in Arkansas ready to help," Casper said.

Arkansans in any of the 13 counties now designated for assistance under the disaster declaration may register online at, via web-enabled phones at, or by calling toll free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362); TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with hearing or speech impairments.

The websites at and provide more information on Arkansas disaster recovery.