Federal Disaster Assistance Available To Missouri Survivors

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

Release Date: May 10, 2011 Release Number: R7-11-015

» More Information on Missouri Severe Storms, Tornadoes, And Flooding

» 2011 Region VII News Releases

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to Missouri to supplement assistance from state and local governments and voluntary agencies in areas struck by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and associated flooding during the period of April 19, 2011, and continuing.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Butler, Mississippi, New Madrid, St. Louis, and Taney. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, property losses, and other programs to help households recover. Additionally, The Small Business Administration (SBA) has been authorized to provide low cost disaster loans to businesses and individuals to cover losses that are not fully compensated by insurance or other sources, and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Disaster survivors must register in order to be considered for assistance, by going to or calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Operators speak many languages. Those with hearing or speech impairment can use TTY 800-462-7585.

Also, you can apply for federal assistance directly through web-enabled mobile phone devices or smartphones. Registration through the mobile site takes three steps:

Go to and click “Apply Online for FEMA Assistance.” You will be directed to;
Click on Start Registration; and
Fill out the registration form.

FEMA will ask for the following information:

The telephone number where you can be reached; The address where you lived at the time of the disaster and the address where you are staying;
Your Social Security number;
A general description of damage to your property and other losses;
The name of your insurance company and your policy number or agent if you have property insurance; and Your bank account routing information if you want FEMA to use direct deposit.

The toll-free FEMA registration numbers are available seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time.

Federal funding also is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis in St. Louis County. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be designated for assistance after the assessments are fully completed.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Modified: Tuesday, 10-May-2011 11:37:49