Thailand

Tsunami Semi-annual Report 2004-2007 Thailand Appeal No. 28/2004

Format
Situation Report
Source
Posted
Originally published

Attachments

This report covers the period of 01 May to 31 October 2007, but reports cumulative totals from December 2004 onwards.

In a world of global challenges, continued poverty, inequity, and increasing vulnerability to disasters and disease, the International Federation with its global network works to accomplish its Global Agenda, partnering with local communities and civil society to prevent and alleviate human suffering from disasters, diseases and public health emergencies.

In brief

Executive Summary: The Federation's tsunami recovery programme (TRP) in Thailand has continued on track during this reporting period with most programme areas moving ahead as anticipated, although a number of planned activities have yet to be completed. The focus in the recent months has increasingly been on developing and planning the process of phase-out of the Federation's direct programme management and the handover of the support to the partner national societies (PNS) from 2008 onwards. The same programme areas; disaster management, health and care, and organizational development will remain the priorities in the period ahead in line with the Tsunami Revised Regional Strategy and Operational Framework 2. The revised programme proposals for 2008 onwards are now completed and submitted, and await final approval.

This handover will entail the recruitment and training of a number of new programme staff, in the Thai Red Cross Society and in PNS teams. Recruitment got underway in quarter three of 2007, with additional staff still being sought. The training, induction and placement process is now moving ahead.

The Federation's TRP team has continued to work closely with the Thai Red Cross Society (TRCS) to support the ongoing activities throughout this reporting period, and will ensure a smooth transition period. The Federation's small office in Phuket will close in December 2007 and a reduced team will relocate to Bangkok, from where, at the specific request of the TRCS, three key areas of support will be provided multilaterally through the Federation in 2008/09. These areas are organizational development, disaster management and coordination, and are based on issues identified or experiences gained during the tsunami recovery operation of the last three years.

For further information specifically related to the tsunami operation, please contact:

Thailand:

Thai Red Cross Society, international relations department: email: intertrc@webmail.redcross.or.th; phone: +66 2256 4037, fax: +66 2255 3064.
Tsunami recovery programme office in Phuket (until 31 December 2007): Martin Fisher (programme coordinator), email: martin.fisher1@gmail.com, phone: +66 7637 6253, fax: +66 7637 6237. [NB: This office will close at end 2007, and the team will relocate to the regional office in Bangkok.]
Regional delegation in Thailand: Alan Bradbury (acting head of Southeast Asia regional delegation), email: alan.bradbury@ifrc.org, phone: +66 2661 8201, fax: +66 2661 9322.

Federation secretariat in Geneva:

Jerry Talbot, special representative for the tsunami operation; email: jerry.talbot@ifrc.org; phone: +41.22.730.4231,
Priya Nair, grants officer (tsunami unit), email: priya.nair@ifrc.org; phone: +41 22 730 4295
Matthew Cochrane, media and public relations officer; email: matthew.cochrane@ifrc.org; phone: +41 22 730 4426; mobile: +41 79 308 9804
Oscar Vispo, tsunami operations web communications officer; email: oscar.vispo@ifrc.org; phone: +41 22 730 4570

Asia Pacific Zone in Kuala Lumpur- phone +60 3 21 61 0892; fax: +60 3 2161 1210

Chee Keong Chew, acting head of zone PMER unit, ext 300; email: cheekeong.chew@ifrc.org
Umadevi Selvarajah, head of zone finance unit, ext 140; email: umadevi.selvarajah@ifrc.org
Karl O'Flaherty, tsunami finance coordinator, ext 613; email: karl.oflaherty@ifrc.org
Igor Dmitryuk, head of regional logistics unit, ext 600; email: igor.dmitryuk@ifrc.org