Thailand: DDPM announced 47 drought-affected provinces and 5 provinces in the South under severe floods

BANGKOK, MARCH 27 2011 (NNT)- The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation, Vibul Sanguanpong announced drought in 47 provinces and severely inundated 5 in the South, with Nakhon Si Thammarat the most affected, causing damages to over 27,315 households.

Mr.Vibul reported on drought situation that there were areas declared disaster zone covering 17 provinces in the North, 15 provinces in the Northeast, 5 in the Central plains, 7 in the East and 3 in the South.

As for flooding in the South, since 23 March there has been a prolonged heavy rainfall causing flash floods in many provinces, with 27,315 households damaged, affecting 61,568 people in Nakhon Si Thammarat, Phatthalung, Surat Thani, Trang and 3 people were found dead in Chumphon province.

Meanwhile, the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation has sent authorities to render preliminary assistance and continuously monitor the situation closely.

News ID: 255403270014

Reporter : Nuttaporn Chanchokpong