Southern state of emergency being extended by three months

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

BANGKOK (NNT) - The National Security Council is set to extend the currently declared state of emergency in southern border provinces for another three months to ensure peace and order, while the Deputy Prime Minister has asked all agencies to protect the safety of villagers during New Year holidays.

The National Security Council’s (NSC) Secretary General Gen Somsak Rungsita, today revealed the outcome of the emergency situation administrative committee meeting chaired by DPM Gen Prawit Wongsiwan, that the meeting has agreed to propose to the Cabinet a 3-month extension to the present state of emergency in southern border provinces.

Southern border provinces, except for the Mae Lan district in Pattani; Betong district in Yala; and Su-ngai Kolok, Sukhirin, and Si Sakhon districts in Narathiwat, are currently under a state of emergency declaration. The three month extension, which will be the 58th extension since the first declaration, is effective from 20th December 2019 to 19th March 2020.

The NSC secretary general said it will allow officials to respond to incidents more effectively, while the meeting has also agreed on the enhancement of investigative operations into security breaches in the area.

In the meeting, Gen Prawit Wongsuwan, instructed the Internal Security Operations Command 4 (Forward Command) and related agencies to protect the safety of the general public as well as themselves during the New Year holidays by increasing their vigilance to prevent any incidents in the area, while at the same time ensuring that areas where the state of emergency has been lifted, do not become a haven for offenders. He also ordered efforts be made to improve the effectiveness of intelligence operations to ensure the greatest accuracy for public safety.