DDPM: Flood situation in 9 provinces returns to normal

BANGKOK, 18 August 2010 (NNT) - The flood situation in 9 provinces has returned to normalcy, according to the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM).

DDPM Director-General Anucha Mokkhavesa stated that continuous rainfalls during 1-17 August had left 248 villages in 24 districts of 9 provinces throughout the Kingdom inundated. The 9 flood-stricken provinces include Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Lampang, Phrae, Uttaradit, Nan, Rayong, Trat and Lamphun. Over 44,000 local residents and 9,000 households have been affected.

However, in the latest development, the flood situation in those provinces has significantly improved. The DDPM, in collaboration with concerned agencies, has dispatched teams of officials into the areas to assess the damages and speedily give aid to people in need.

Those troubled by the flood can contact the DDPM Hotline 1784 for further assistance around the clock.