DDPM: 45 provinces declared drought-affected areas

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

BANGKOK, 7 May 2014 (NNT) – The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has reported that 45 provinces and 319 districts have been declared drought-affected areas.

Mr. Chatchai Promlert, the Director General of the DDPM, said that the department is hastening to help people affected by drought and will monitor the water supply situation to arrange appropriate zoning of drought-affected areas. The DDPM will determine measures to assist, according to the intensity of the situation, make a comprehensive and effective water management and distribution plan and explore affected agricultural areas. People should use water sparingly and prepare water reserves for consumption. Agricultural plans should be made in accordance with the water situation and water allocation in the area.

People affected by the drought can ask for help on the Hotline 1784, which is available 24 hours a day.

Correspondent : supawadee wangsri Rewriter : Rodney McNeil