Buriram declares 17 districts storm-disaster zones

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

BURIRAM, 6 May 2014 (NNT) – Seventeen districts of Buriram Province have been declared storm-disaster zones as more than 1,600 houses have so far been savaged by summer storms.

Buriram has been hit by strong winds, causing the province to announce 17 districts disaster areas. According to provincial authorities, 333 villages in 80 sub-districts have been heavily affected by summer storms. The storms have also caused damages to more than 1,620 houses, temples, schools, rubber plantations, and a number of barns.

Since a storm first hit Buriram in March, no financial assistance from the central administration has been submitted to residents. However, the Provincial Administrative Organization (PAO) has been using its own budget to purchase building materials and handing them out to the residents whose houses have been destroyed.

Furthermore, the Thai Red Cross and the Military District have been giving out relief packages in initial assistance.