52 provinces to see summer storms; 42 provinces declared drought disaster zones

from Government of Thailand
Published on 20 Apr 2014 View Original

BANGKOK, 20 April 2014 (NNT) – The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has warned 52 provinces to beware of sudden summer storms, while 288 districts in 42 provinces have already been declared drought disaster areas in need of assistance.

According to the DDPM director-general Chatchai Phromlert, there are 42 provinces, 288 districts, 1,765 sub-districts and 16,960 villages declared drought disaster zones in need of emergency assistance. The relevant officials have been assigned to arrange drought zoning and to survey affected agricultural lands, in order to design effective water management plans to meet the needs of each area. In the meantime, water distribution will be extended to cover all areas. The public is requested to cooperate by using water economically.

Meanwhile, 52 provinces across all regions have been advised to prepare for upcoming summer thunderstorms which will bring heavy rain, strong gusts of wind and extensive hail throughout the region, between the 21st and 26th April. While relevant officials are monitoring weather and storms closely, rescue teams with equipment are also preparing themselves to provide immediate assistance in cases of emergency.

Those who have been affected by drought or summer storms can contact the emergency hotline on 1784 around the clock.