39 provinces nationwide declared drought disaster zones

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

BANGKOK, 21 March 2013 (NNT) - The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has declared drought disaster zones in 39 provinces while Suphan Buri is now on the verge of becoming another drought-hit area.

Suphan Buri Governor Supat Srisunthornpinit said the province is hit by severe drought on an annual basis, usually around the peak of April. Four districts that experience drought every year consist of Don Chedi, Dan Chang, Nong Ya Sai and U Thong, and this year, they are expected to be named drought disaster zones like any other year.

A number of areas outside of the irrigation zone are reportedly experiencing shortages of water and lack of fresh grass for farm cattle.

Thus far, the DDPM has declared 39 provinces across the kingdom drought disaster zones, with 20 of them struck by extreme drought. These provinces, mostly in the North and Northeast, include Nan, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Buri Ram, Kalasin, Udon Thani and Nakhon Ratchasima.