33 provinces declared cold disaster zone

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

BANGKOK, 18 January 2012 (NNT) – The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation has announced that more than 30 provinces in the country's upper part are now declared cold disaster zones.

Mr. Viboon Sanguanpong, Director General of the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation, said that as many as 33 provinces have been suffering severe cold spell that forced the Department to declare them disaster zones.

They include 13 provinces in the North, including Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Mae Hong Son, Phrae, Uttaradit, Phitsanulok, Nan, Tak, Phayao, Lampang, Lamphun, Phetchabun and Kamphaeng Phet.

In the Northeast, there are 17 provinces, which are affected by the cold weather. They are Sakon Nakhon, Loei, Nong Khai, Nakhon Phanom, Ubon Ratchathani, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Kalasin, Buri Ram, Si Saket, Bueng Kan, Udon Thani, Nong Bua Lamphu, Khon Kaen, Surin, Chaiyaphum and Nakhon Ratchasima.

The remaining disaster-hit provinces are in the central region of the country, including Suphan Buri, Ratchaburi and Nakhon Pathom.

Locals who have been affected by the cold spell are invited to contact the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Office in their respective areas or call the hotline number 1784 for assistance around the clock.

News ID: 255501180003

Reporter : Nopparat Chaichalearmmongkol
News Date : 18 January 2012