21 provinces severely hit by thunderstorms

BANGKOK, 29 April 2011 (NNT) – Totally 21 provinces have been devastated by thunderstorms since 1 April 2011, according to the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM).

DDPM Director-General Viboon Sanguanpong reported that the current climate variability has caused frequent summer thunderstorms, torrential rain and strong gust. Many provinces in the northern, northeastern, central and eastern regions have been hit by the disaster.

A total of 422 villages in 54 districts of 21 provinces received negative impacts from the disaster. 13,647 houses were damaged, and one villager was reportedly killed by a thunderbolt in the northeastern province of Kalasin.

Mr Viboon added that the DDPM has urgently dispatched related officials to the disaster-attacked areas in order to inspect all losses. Financial compensations will later be made to villagers for the reconstruction of their accommodations.

News ID: 255404290006

Reporter : Sarun Saelee