Syria + 2 more

ACAPS Country Profile: Syria, February 2016

View original


The Syrian Arab Republic occupies 185,180 km2, and consists of mountain ranges in the west and desert in the east. A steppe area covers three-quarters of the country, between the Mediterranean coast and the desert region. It borders Turkey to the north, Iraq to the east, Jordan to the southeast, Israel to the southwest, and Lebanon and the Mediterranean Sea to the west. Syria is divided into 14 governorates, which are divided into 65 districts and 281 subdistricts. Syria’s capital is Damascus, while Aleppo is the largest city.