Sudan: UN SG letter dated 30 June to the President of the Security Council (S/2005/428)


I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 1591 (2005) concerning the Sudan. In paragraph 3 of the resolution, the Council requested me to appoint, in consultation with the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) concerning the Sudan, for a period of six months, four experts having the necessary skills to serve on the Panel of Experts concerning the Sudan, in accordance with the mandate set out in the same paragraph.

Accordingly, I wish to inform you that, taking into account the requirements stated in resolution 1591 (2005), I have appointed the following four experts:

1. Mr. Gerard P. McHugh (Ireland);

2. Mr. Ernst Jan Hogendoorn (Netherlands);

3. Ms. Sherrone Blake Lobban (Jamaica);

4. Mr. Eustace Mainza (Zambia).

I should be grateful if you would bring this information to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) Kofi A. Annan