South Sudan

UN Humanitarian Chief Valerie Amos and UNESCO Special Envoy for Peace and Reconciliation Forest Whitaker to visit South Sudan

Format
News and Press Release
Source
Posted
Originally published

Attachments

WHO: Valerie Amos, the UN Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and the Emergency Relief Coordinator, and Forest Whitaker, the UNESCO Special Envoy for Peace and Reconciliation

WHAT: Mission to South Sudan and Kenya

WHEN: 6-9 February 2015

WHERE: Juba and Jonglei State, South Sudan Nairobi, Kenya

UN humanitarian chief Valerie Amos will visit South Sudan from 6 to 9 February with UNESCO Special Envoy for Peace and Reconciliation Forest Whitaker. They will assess the humanitarian situation faced by people affected by the conflict and highlight the urgent need for peace and stability.

During the three-day mission Ms. Amos and Mr. Whitaker are expected to meet with communities affected by the crisis, senior Government officials and humanitarian partners, to discuss ways of improving the humanitarian operation in South Sudan.

A press conference is scheduled to take place from 0845- 0915 AM on 9 February at the UNOCHA Conference Room in Juba at the end of the visit.

Both Ms. Amos and Mr. Whitaker are expected to participate in the OCHA-IGAD event on South Sudan in Nairobi, Kenya, later the same day, which will also be followed by a press conference. -End-

For further details of media opportunities during the trip, and to set up interviews please contact: In Juba: Tapiwa Gomo: +211 922406070, gomo@un.org; Jen Paton: +211 920100413,patonj@un.org In Nairobi: Matthew Conway, +254 20 762 2156, +254 732 500010, conwaym@un.org In New York: Michelle Delaney: +1 917 226 6308,delaneym@un.org; Amanda Pitt, +1 917 442 1810, pitta@un.org Or Caroline Descombris, Liaison Officer for Forest Whitaker at UNESCO, Email: c.descombris@unesco.org, or caroline@wpdi.org. Mobile: +211923311224 or +33.1.45681624

For more information about the humanitarian situation in South Sudan visit www.unocha.org/South-Sudan http://southsudan.humanitarianresponse.info/

Facebook: UNOCHA SouthSudan | Twitter @OCHASouthSudan

UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
To learn more about OCHA's activities, please visit https://www.unocha.org/.