Lower Shabelle – Situation Analysis October 2012

from UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
Published on 31 Oct 2012


Lower Shabelle region borders Mogadishu, Middle Shabelle, Middle Juba, Bay and the Indian Ocean.
Its estimated population is 850,651 with a rural/urban split of 80/20 per cent. The region has eight administrative districts and six livelihood zones, mainly the riverine, agro-pastoral and coastal pastoral zones.

Lower Shabelle has the largest concentration of IDPs with 496,000 people, including 406,000 in Afgoyee.These IDPs were originally displaced from Mogadishu by a multi-dimensional conflict since 2007, living in the Afgooye corridor. During the conflicts in February and May 2012, over 50,000 IDPs were displaced to Mogadishu and other parts of Lower Shabelle from the Afgooye corridor.

In June 2012, AMISOM/Somali National Army (SNA) took over Afgoye town, ending more than four years of Al-Shabaab rule. In August 2012, Merka, previously under AS, was also taken by AMISOM and SNA. The remaining districts in the region are still under Al-Shabaab control.

UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs:

To learn more about OCHA's activities, please visit http://unocha.org/.