Puerto Rico (The United States of America) + 1 more

$26.1 million disbursed for public assistance disaster aid

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

SAN JUAN, PR -- The recovery operation lead by the Government of Puerto Rico and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has resulted in the disbursal of more than $26.1 million in disaster aid for Public Assistance (PA). As of today, 907 infrastructure projects have been approved for designated municipalities.

"Local governments are working as fast as they can to fix their infrastructure and we want to ensure that they receive adequate support from our agency," said Justo Hernández, Federal Coordinating Officer.

FEMA provides funds for the costs of conducting protective measures during a declaration of emergency. This aid was granted for all the 78 municipalities in Puerto Rico during the declaration of emergency on August 21, 2011.

"These grants are intended for government entities and nonprofits organizations to repair roads, bridges and facilities which must be safe and properly functioning to serve the community," explained Juan C. Pavía, the Governor’s Authorized Representative.

Through the PA program, FEMA supplies supplemental federal disaster grant assistance after a federal disaster declaration for debris removal, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned buildings and facilities of certain Private Non-Profit (PNP) organizations. This program reimburses 75 percent of the eligible cost of these projects, with the Government of Puerto Rico and the municipality sharing the remainder. The PA Program also encourages protection of these damaged facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process.

On August 27, 2011, President Obama granted a federal disaster declaration making eligible for PA program the municipalities of: Adjuntas, Aguada, Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Añasco, Arecibo, Arroyo, Barranquitas, Bayamón, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cataño, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Corozal, Culebra, Fajardo, Guayama, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juana Díaz, Juncos, Las Marías, Las Piedras, Loíza, Luquillo, Maricao, Maunabo, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Peñuelas, Rincón, Río Grande, Sabana Grande, Salinas, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Santa Isabel, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, Yabucoa and Yauco.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.