NDRRMC Update SitRep No.04 re Preparedness Measures for Typhoon "Nina" (Nock-ten)

Situation Report
Originally published
View original


[as of 26 December 2016, 8:00AM]


23 December 2016

The Severe Tropical Storm (STS) with international name NOCK-TEN entered the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR) and was named "NINA". It has maximum sustained winds of up to 105 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 130 kph and it is forecasted to move West Northwest at 20 kph.

24 December 2016

"NINA" has intensified into a Typhoon and continues to move in a West Northwest direction with a maximum sustained winds of up to 135 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 165 kph moving West Northwest at 17 kph.

Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal (TCWS) No.1 is hoisted in Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay, Catanduanes, Sorsogon, Masbate including Ticao and Burias Islands, Northern Samar and Eastern Samar.

25 December 2016

TCWS No. 4 was raised over Catanduanes and Camarines Sur; TCWS No. 3 in Burias Islands, Albay, Camarines Norte, Southern Quezon, Sorsogon, and Marinduque; TCWS No. 2 in Metro Manila, Masbate including Ticao Island, Oriental Mindoro, Barangas, rest of Quezon including Polillo, Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Island, Romblon, Cavite, Rizal, Bulacan, Bataan, and Northern Samar; and TCWS No. 1 over Pangasinan, Nueva Ecija, Aurora, Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya, Zambales, Pampanga, Tarlac, Calamian Group of Islands, Aklan, Capiz, Samar, Eastern Samar, Biliran, Leyte, and Bantayan Island.

26 December 2016

TY "NINA" has slightly weakened and is now traversing Mompog Pass. At 4:00 AM today, the eye of TY "NINA" was located 85 km North of Romblon, Romblon with maximum sustained winds of up to 150 kph and gustiness of up to 250 kph. It is forecasted to move West at 20 kph.

TCWS No. 3 is raised over the Provinces of Camarines Sur, southern Quezon, Marinduque, Batangas, northern Oriental Mindoro, Lubang Island, Cavite and Laguna; TCWS No. 2 in Metro Manila, Rizal, Northern Quezon including Polillo Islands, Bulacan, Bataan, Pampanga, southern Zambales, rest of Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, northern Occidental Mindoro, Burias Island, Camarines Norte, and Albay; and TCWS No. 1 in the Provinces of The rest of Occidental Mindoro, Masbate including Ticao Island, rest of Zambales, Tarlac, Nueva Ecija, southern Aurora, Pangasinan, Sorsogon and Catanduanes.

"Nina" has already made 4 landfalls:

  • 1st landfall in Bato, Cataduanes on 25 December 2016, 6:30 PM
  • 2nd landfall in Sagnay, Camarines Sur on 25 December 2016, 9:30 PM
  • 3rd landfall in San Andres, Quezon on 26 December 2016, 2:00 AM
  • 4th landfall in the Province of Marinduque 26 December 2016, 4:30 AM