NDRRMC Update SitRep No. 07 for Flooding in Maguindanao



Persistent rainshowers and thunderstorms that started since 13 June 2014 caused flooding incident in seventeen (17) municipalities of Maguindanao Province. The accumulation of water hyacinth in Tamontaka River and Rio Grande do Mindanao further contributed to the flooding.

On 02 July 2014, continous rains due to Intertropical Convergence Zone aggravated the flooding in the province which eventually caused Rio Grande de Mindanao in the Municipality of Datu Piang and Patot River in the Municipality of Buldon to overflow. The overflowing of the two river systems affected several barangays and caused the suspension of classes in the municipalities of Datu Piang, Datu Montawal , and Buldon. Around 11:45 AM, 03 July 2014, the same weather system caused a flashflood incident in Barangays Salimbao, Bulalo, and Katuli, all of Sultan Kudarat.

  • The following are the affected municipalities:
  1. Ampatuan
  2. Datu Abdullah Sangki
  3. DatuMontawal
  4. Datu Odin Sinsuat
  5. DatuPiang
  6. DatuSalibo
  7. Mother Kabuntalan
  8. Mamasapano
  9. Pagalungan
  10. Northern Kabuntalan
  11. Rajah Buayan
  12. Sharif Saydona
  13. Sultan Sa Barongis
  14. Sultan Kudarat
  15. General Salipada K. Pendatum
  16. Talitay
  17. Buldon


  1. Affected Population (TAB A):

As of 03 July 2014, a total of 19,837 families/99,185 persons from 132 barangays have been affected by the flooding in the aforementioned municipalities, while validation and assessment are still being conducted in the municipalities of Datu Odin Sinsuat, Pagalungan, Sharrif Saydona and Sultan Kudarat to determine the number of barangays and families affected. No evacuation was reported and no evacuation centres were established.