NDRRMC SitRep No. 18 re Effects of Magnitude 6.7 Earthquake in Surigao City, Surigao del Norte



At 10:03 PM on 10 February 2017, Friday, a strong earthquake of magnitude 6.7 shook the island of Mindanao. The epicenter is located 16 km offshore northwest of Surigao City, Surigao Strait with a depth of 10 km. The earthquake was generated by the movement of Surigao segment of the Philippine Fault. Small-magnitude earthquakes followed afterwards, and as of 8:00 AM of 07 March 2017, 292 aftershocks have been recorded by the PHIVOLCS seismic monitoring network.

Based on preliminary intensity reports, the strongest ground shaking was felt at PHIVOLCS Earthquake Intensity Scale (PEIS) VII (Destructive) in Surigao City. The municipalities of Pintuyan in Southern Leyte, and San Francisco and Malimono in Surigao del Norte experienced the ground shaking at PEIS VI (Very Strong), while the municipalities of Mainit and Placer in Surigao Del Norte, Libjo and San Jose in Dinagat Island, San Ricardo, Limasawa and San Francisco in Southern Leyte and Manduae City felt the shaking at PEIS V (Strong). This earthquake was felt PEIS IV to I as far as 250 km away (Butuan City, Ormoc City, Tacloban City, Catbalogan City, Bislig City, Cebu City, Cagayan De Oro City, Dumaguete City and Tagbilaran City) from the epicentral area. The strong ground shaking near the epicentral area resulted to damages to some buildings, roads and bridges.

On 05 March 2017, 08:08 AM, an earthquake was felt in Surigao City. PHIVOLCS reported the occurrence of a magnitude 5.9 tectonic earthquake at 9.77°N, 125.38°E - 012 km S 80°W of Surigao City with a depth of focus 010 km. The seismic event was an aftershock of the magnitude 6.7 earthquake on 10 February 2017.

  • Intensity VI in Surigao City

  • Intensity V in San Jose, Basilisa, and Cagdianao, Dinagat Islands; Malimono, Surigao del Norte

  • Intensity IV in Limasawa and San Ricardo, Southern Leyte; Alegria and Mainit, Surigao del Norte; Libjo, Dinagat Islands; Alegria and Jabonga, Agusan del Norte; Butuan City

  • Intensity III in San Juan and San Francisco, Southern Leyte; Claver, Surigao del Norte; Remedios T. Romualdez, Agusan del Norte; Gingoog City; and

  • Intensity II in General Luna, Surigao del Norte; Ormoc Ciity; Cagayan de Oro City

(Source: PHIVOLCS Earthquake Information No. 4 issued on 07 March 2017, 01:46 AM)



  1. A total of 10,376 families / 51,880 persons were affected in 82 barangays in the Province of Surigao del Norte and a total of 1,567 families / 7,835 persons are served outside evacuation centers.