Peru: Flood Emergency Plan of Action (EPoA) DREF Operation n° MDRPE009


A. Situation Analysis

Description of the Disaster The Department of Loreto, which is located in north-eastern Peru, includes a vast area of the Amazon plain crossed by numerous large rivers such as the Amazon, Napo,
Itaya, Ucayali and Marañón. The province of Maynas is bordered by Ecuador and Colombia to the north, by the province of Mariscal Ramón Castilla to the east, by the province of Requena to the south and by the province of Loreto and the country of Ecuador to the west; three of its thirteen districts are San Juan Bautista, Punchana and Belen. The first areas to be affected were the districts of San Juan Bautista, Belen, Punchana and Indiana in the province of Maynas.

On 2 April 2015, the National Emergency Operations Centre (COEN is the acronym in Spanish) issued a Meteorological Service report stating that the Amazon River basin was at a level of 118.28 meters (the maximum historical level is 118.97 centimetres) . This was due to the intense rainfall registered in the Loreto region, which increased river flow in and later caused the Itaya River and the Nanay River to overflow, causing floods that affected homes, roads and shops in the province of Maynas.

According to INDECI's 22 April report, 35 districts were affected in all of the provinces of the department of Loreto, 17,169 homes were affected, 336 homes were rendered uninhabitable and 2 collapsed, 614 educational institutions were also affected. In terms of agriculture, 6,982 hectares of crops were destroyed and 2,215 hectares were affected. According to the situation report from the office of the resident coordinator of United Nations, 9,884 people were left homeless, 105,941 people have been affected and 11,431 small animals were perished.

The state, through Supreme Decree No. 028-2015 -President of the Council of Ministers (PCM), declared a 60-day state of emergency in the districts of Balsapuerto, Lagunas, Santa Cruz, Teniente Cesar Lopez and Yurimaguas in the province of Alto Amazonas, the districts of Nauta, Trompeteros, Parinari and Urarinas in the province of Loreto; the districts of Belen, San Juan Bautista, Punchana, Indiana, Iquitos and Las Amazonas in the province of Maynas; the district of Requena in the province of Requena and the districts of Contamana, Padre Marquez, Pampa Hermosa and Vargas Guerra in the province of Ucayali in the department of Loreto.

The vast majority of the homes affected in Maynas are located in flood-prone areas, so residents have chosen to build their homes on elevated wood foundations called altillos that are 80 cm to 1 metre off the ground. Despite these efforts, the severe e floods still flooded the first floor in numerous homes, forcing the affected to move to the second floor.

In other cases, families have opted to leave their homes as they are uninhabitable due to high water levels. The Loreto Regional Government (GOREL) has set up approximately 11 temporary shelters for a total of approximately 2,101 people, giving priority to pregnant women, mothers with children under 5 years of age and female heads of household. They are currently being supported with food and water through community kitchens; these shelters house families from flooded communities.

Peru's National Meteorology and Hydrology Service has forecast that there is a greater than 50 percent chance of precipitation in the areas of Iquitos, Nauta, Requena and Caballococha in the second quarter (from April to June).