Pakistan Emergency Situational Analysis - District Dadu, June 2014

Situation Report
Originally published


1 Background Information


1.1.1 History

Dadu district was created, in 1933, by the British Indian administration by merging Kotri and Kohistan tehsils of Karachi district and Mehar, Khairpur Nathan Shah, Dadu, Johi and Sehwan tehsils of Larkana district. Historical significance of Dadu & its adjoining area (i.e.Sehwan, Johi & Mehar etc) has been mainly for two reasons; one that they forward the border between political domains of the rulers of the states of Sindh & Balochistan. Second, Dadu has been along the route of caravans travelling along the Indus. Khudabad village of district Dadu had remained the capital of Kalhora dynasty till as late as 1768 A.D. The popular trade system was “Hundi” in the district.

After Independence of Pakistan, the people belonging to Hindu community migrated to India & their properties were given to Muslims who had come from IndiaIn fact Dadu District developed after Independence. The Indus Highway was also constructed after Independence. From 1991 up till 14th December 2004, Dadu remained the largest district of Sindh province before it was bifurcated and a new district of Jamshoro was created on 13/12/2004. At present, district Dadu comprises of four talukas i.e. Dadu, Johi, Mehar & K.N.Shah.