Nepal + 1 more

IOM Mission in Nepal Info-sheet (February 2015)

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original


Nepal became an International Organization for Migration (IOM) member state in 2006. In 2007, the Government of Nepal (GoN) and the IOM signed a memorandum of understanding to encourage cooperation and the delivery of services to Nepal, which is a country of origin, transit and destination of migration. The IOM’s initial focus was on the resettlement of Bhutanese refugees. Since then, the organization’s staff has grown to 487 (including 461 national staff, 1 UN volunteers and 25 international staff), and the IOM has diversified its areas of cooperation with the GoN into additional fields which include Forced Migration, Facilitating Migration, Migration & Development, and Regulating Migration. These four fields consist of a variety of programs that are outlined in this info sheet.

On 25 April and 12 May 2015, devastating earthquakes measuring 7.8 and 7.3 Richter killed at least 8,790 people and destroyed 498,852 houses across Nepal. Together with local communities, humanitarian organizations and the GoN, the IOM launched relief activities to meet the needs of those affected. The IOM’s Nepal Earthquake Response is also covered in this infosheet.