Update influenza A (H1N1) Regional report (4 Jun 2009)

from Pan American Health Organization
Published on 04 Jun 2009 View Original
The data and information of this report are updated daily and are available at: http://new.paho.org/hq/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1&lang=en

Data can change as new notifications from countries are received.

The information is obtained from official websites of the Ministries of Health of the countries of the Americas and information submitted by the International Health Regulations (IHR) National Focal

Summary of the current situation

As of 4 June 2009, 19,490 confirmed cases of the new virus influenza A (H1N1) infection, including 125 deaths, have been notified in 24 countries of the Americas: Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela.

WHO is not recommending any travel restrictions related to the outbreak of the Influenza A (H1N1) virus.

In the Americas Region, there were 101 additional confirmed cases compared to the previous day. No new deaths were notified. Barbados reported its first case of Influenza A (H1N1).