Sahel – Disaster Risk Management: Development Operational Plan 2014

1. Executive Summary

The Sahel Regional Representation, based in Senegal, supports National Societies in ten countries: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Chad, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Senegal. It is part of the larger IFRC secretariat presence in the Africa Zone and reports to the Africa Zone Office.

Technical support in disaster management encompasses the entire cycle, including hazards/risk mapping, early warning, contingency planning, disaster risk management, development of tools and standard operating procedures, dissemination of policies, standards and guidelines. Promotion of disaster risk reduction includes integration of Disaster risk reduction (DRR) into other programming and climate change adaptation.

A process of technical accompaniment will be used that supports National Societies (NS) in understanding the key challenges they face and in self-identifying the key actions needed to deliver quality community impact at scale or to be ready to implement effective and efficient quality health emergency and disaster responses. National Societies will therefore be supported with ongoing technical support in the implementation of their action plans over the next four years.

National disaster preparedness response mechanism, national disaster response team system and the regional disaster response team system continue to be of great importance in providing emergency health and disaster response capacity during operations and there will continue to be a regional focus on supporting and strengthening these.