Wajir – Mandera Conflict Humanitarian Emergency Response Daily Situation Report 12

Situation Report
Originally published
View original



Wajir County is divided into 8 districts namely; Wajir East, Tarbaj, Wajir South, Habaswein, Wajir West, Eldas, Buna and Wajir North districts. There are 6 constituencies currently i.e., Tarbaj, Wajir East, Wajir South, Wajir West, Eldas and Wajir North districts.

The county has currently been facing inter-ethnic clashes between the Degodia and Garre communities along Border areas of Mandera and Wajir counties that have left 30 people killed, 18 injured and displacement of 12,140 Households since 13th May 2014.

The clashes have directly affected 10 locations in Tarbaj District namely; Lehely, Bojigaras, Mansa,
Burmayo, Ogoralle, Ber janai, Dunto, Basanechaa, Gunana and Belowle (Wajir North).

The clashes further affected other centers that have had an influx of displaced persons which include Sarman, Elben, Tarbaj, Kutulo, Batalu, Danaba, Quadama and Gulani

The Wajir County Governor requested KRCS to lead the emergency response including the medical outreach, Rapid Impact Assessment of the immediate humanitarian situation and support in distribution of emergency food and NFIs, amongst others.

1. Medical Outreach

As of Thursday 12th June 2014, the KRCS medical response team was dispatched to Hungai, 64 kms East from Wajir County to conduct medical outreaches