National Drought Early Warning Bulletin, June 2019

Situation Report
Originally published
View original



  • Following the rains received in some ASAL areas in May, the number of counties in the alarm drought phase have reduced to seven from 10 in April. Counties currently classified in the alarm drought phase include: Wajir, Isiolo, Baringo, Garissa, Marsabit, West Pokot and Samburu.

  • As at end of May, the vegetation condition index (VCI) values in eight (8) counties:
    Baringo, Garissa, Isiolo, Kitui, Laikipia, Samburu, Tana River and West Pokot are still indicating severe vegetation deficit since the rains received so far have not increased the vegetation greenness to the expected normal ranges for the period.

  • Although rains experienced in May has brought some positive impact on the condition of crops, it is unlikely that crops will reached physiological maturity and therefore the expected harvest for the 2019 MAM season is projected to be below average by as much as over 50 percent.

  • In May 2019, approximately 1.6 million people in arid and semi-arid (ASAL) counties were assessed to be need of food assistance. According to the Kenya Food Security Steering Group (KFSSG) estimates, the population projected to require humanitarian assistance is likely to reach 2 million by July 2019.