Indonesia + 2 more


Originally published


Revised Plan and Budget
Appeal No. M04EA028
23 August 2010

The Federation's mission is to improve the lives of vulnerable people by mobilizing the power of humanity. It is the world's largest humanitarian organization and its millions of volunteers are active in over 186 countries.

In Brief

Emergency and Recovery Plan and Budget (Appeal No. 28/2004)
Period covered: December 2004 to December 2011
Appeal coverage: 100% (July 2010)

Operational summary: Five and a half years after the massive earthquake and subsequent tsunamis on 26 December 2004, which devastated countries around the Indian Ocean, recovery programmes undertaken by the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) and its member national societies continue. The tsunami disaster has brought about the largest emergency and recovery operations ever undertaken by the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement. Over CHF 3.1 billion was raised within IFRC by more than 100 national societies around the world. The focus of assistance continues to be in the three most affected countries: Indonesia, the Maldives and Sri Lanka.

CHF 619,887,758 has been spent directly by the IFRC Secretariat in the sectors of emergency relief, health, water and sanitation, construction, livelihoods, disaster management and organizational development between 2004-2009, under the Emergency and Recovery Plan of Action. The plan and budget for IFRC multilateral operations for the seven-year period, 2005-2011, has been revised to take into account work already completed and recovery programmes currently underway. The total budget for the seven-year period is now CHF 703.24 million. While many programmes have been completed during 2009 and 2010, some programmes, in the most affected countries, will continue through 2011.

Standard national plans and budgets (appeals) for 2010-2011 were issued to provide support to core programmes and capacity building activities of Sri Lanka Red Cross Society, Indonesian Red Cross and the new Maldivian Red Crescent, which was recognized in 2009.