Flash Flood in Aceh Tenggara, Aceh Province and 3 other parts of Indonesia, SITREP # 1

Situation Report
Originally published
View original


19 April at 15.00 PM local time (UCT+7)


  • On 12 April 2012 at 18.15 (UCT+7), flash flood occurred in 2 sub-districts: Bukit sub-district (Kerukunan, Sebudijaya and Rikit Bur II villages) and Bambel sub-district (Kuning II and Cinta Damai sub-district), Aceh Tenggara distirct, Aceh province. The water level reached ± 150 cmheight and the water consisted of mud and log. The population at risk is 690 people/183 households.

  • On 15 April 2012 at 15.30 PM (UCT+6), a flash flood in Lematang Indah waterfall, Perahu Dipo village, Dempo Selatan sub-district, Pagar Alam, South Sumatera province

  • On 15 April 2012 at 16.30 PM Central Indonesian Time (UCT+6), a flash flood occurred in power plant of Mino Hydro (PLTM), Mantowa village, Pasar Wajo sub-district, Buton district, South east Sulawesi province.

  • On 16 April 2012 at 08.30 AM, a flood affected 15 villages in Teumon sub-district, Aceh Jaya district, Aceh province. The population at risk was 9,000 people. The water level reached 1 meterheight.

  • As of today, Centre for Health Crisis (CHC), Ministry of Health (MoH) reported death of 2 persons, minor injuries of 6 persons, and 24 persons as IDP.

  • In addition to the data from CHC-MOH, BNPB reported that the flash flood in Aceh Tenggara caused minor injury of 5 persons and rendered 132 household (460 persons) as temporary IDP. 52 houses were severely damaged, 96 lightly damaged houses and 14 houses were swept away.

  • Respected District Heath Offices and Provincial Health Offices had evacuated the victims, provided medical services, and the level of alert for health facilities is still raised.

  • Aceh Tenggara DHO, Aceh Jaya DHO, Pagar alam DHO, Buton DHO, Aceh PHO, Aceh PHO, South Sumatera PHO, South East Sulawesi PHO and Center for Health Crisis are monitoring the situation closely.

  • WHO is in close contact with MOH to provide any assistance needed.