Report of the Security Council Mission to Haiti, 13-16 February 2012 (S/2012/534)

UN Document
Originally published
View original


I. Introduction

1 . In a letter dated 19 January 2012, the President of the Security Council informed the Secretary-General that the members of the Council had decided to send a mission to Haiti from 13 to 16 February 2012. Susan E. Rice, Permanent Representative of the United States of America to the United Nations, led the mission, which was composed as follows:

Azerbaijan (Agshin Mehdiyev, Permanent Representative)
Colombia (Néstor Osorio, Permanent Representative)
France (Gérard Araud, Permanent Representative)
Germany (Christophe Eick, Minister Plenipotentiary)
Guatemala (Gert Rosenthal, Permanent Representative)
India (Hardeep Singh Puri, Permanent Representative)
Morocco (Mohammed Loulichki, Permanent Representative)
Pakistan (Raza Bashir Tarar, Deputy Permanent Representative)
Portugal (José Filipe Moraes Cabral, Permanent Representative)
Russian Federation (Nikita Y. Zhukov, Deputy Permanent Representative)
South Africa (Baso Sangqu, Permanent Representative)
Togo (Kodjo Menan, Permanent Representative)
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (Philip Parham, Deputy Permanent Representative)
United States (Susan E. Rice, Permanent Representative, Head of Mission)
The representative of China was unable to join the mission.

2 . The primary purpose of the mission, as set out in its terms of reference, was to reaffirm the commitment of the Security Council to assist the Government and people of Haiti to rebuild their country, to consolidate peace, democracy and stability and to promote recovery and sustainable development, recognizing that Haiti has made considerable strides since the tragic earthquake of 12 January 2010 yet continues to face significant security, humanitarian and development challenges. The mission also wished to express the full support of the Security Council for the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti (MINUSTAH) and to assess the progress made in the implementation of its mandate.

3 . This was the third visit of the Council to Haiti since the establishment of MINUSTAH in 2004, the Council having previously visited in April 2005 and March 2009. The terms of reference of the mission, which were agreed on 6 February 2012, and its programme of work are contained in annexes I and II to the present report.

4 . The mission left New York on 13 February and returned on 16 February. The mission met with the President of Haiti, Michel Joseph Martelly, the Prime Minister, Garry Conille, the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Laurent Lamothe, the Minister of Justice and Public Security, Pierre Michel Brunache, the Minister of the Interior, Thierry Mayard-Paul, and a number of other senior Government officials; the President of the Chamber of Deputies and other members of Parliament; representatives of civil society; and local officials of the Nippes and North Departments. The mission also met with senior MINUSTAH officials including Mariano Fernández, Special Representative of the Secretary-General in Haiti; Major General Luiz Ramos, Force Commander; and Marc Tardif, Police Commissioner.

5 . The mission visited Port-au-Prince, Miragoâne (Nippes Department), Léogâne (West Department), Cap-Haïtien (North Department) and the Caracol industrial site (North-East Department). The mission also visited various MINUSTAH military and police facilities, including the Delmas 33 police station, as well as the Carradeux camp for internally displaced persons and a cholera treatment centre in Port-auPrince.