Weather / Flooding update 11:30am 26/01/12 - Areas of natural disaster

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

The Ministry of Provincial Development and Multi Ethnic Affairs permanent secretary, Inia Seruiratu, confirmed the declaration of Natural Disaster for parts of the Western Division today.

The declaration follows a Cabinet decision in exercise of the powers conferred upon Cabinet by section 17 (1) of the Natural Disaster Management Act 1998, and on the advice of the National Disaster Management Council.

The areas that have been declared a state of natural disaster are:

  1. Ra Province - Rakiraki Tikina areas and Nakoro Tikina areas

  2. Tavua District - Yaladro Flats, Korovou Village, Balata areas, Natawa areas, Yasiyasi Flats and Tavua village

  3. Ba District - Ba Town area, Wailailai area, Votua Flats, Namosau area, Koronubu areas and Rarawai areas

  4. Lautoko District - Sabeto Flats, Barara Flats, Natabua Seaside Flats, Vitogo Flats, Naiviyago Flats, Paipai Flats, Lovu Flats and Drasa Flats

  5. Nadi District - Nadi market, Nadi Bus Stand, Andrews Road, Hospital Road, Raniga Street, Korociri Settlement, Nawaijikuma Settlement, Navakai Flats, Moala Village and Moala Flats

  6. Nadroga Province - Semo Village, Lomawai Village, Naveisabasaba Village, Nalele Village, Cuvu Flats and Nalovo areas

The declaration is effective for a period of 15 days from January 2012, unless revoked earlier.