Egypt + 17 more

Long Term Planning Framework Middle East and North Africa zone 2012-2015

Originally published
View original


  1. Who are we?
    The MENA Zone consists of three regions (North Africa, Middle East and the Gulf). IFRC has Regional Representations for North Africa (based in Tunis) and for the Gulf (based in Amman), as well as Country Representations currently in Yemen, Iraq, Palestine, and Syria.
    The Zone Office is based in Beirut.

  2. What is our mission?
    At all levels, the support the MENA Zone will provide to the NSs aims to achieve two overarching objectives:

  • Enhanced NS capacity building in a comprehensive approach to address both emergency and capacity building/development needs within the framework of Strategy 2020 and its relevant business lines with particular reference to national societies operating in the changing context (immediate objective )

  • Increased NS empowerment leading to more optimal utilization of their full potential as major contributors to humanitarian endeavours with particular reference to national societies with strong capacities to contribute to humanitarian and social development endeavours not only nationally and regionally but also within the global context (ultimate objective)