Secretary-General appoints group of experts for the DR of Congo

from UN News Service
Published on 07 Sep 2005
Five investigators have been appointed to the Group of Experts for the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) to monitor the Security Council arms embargo against that country's militias under a mandate expiring next January, the UN spokesman said.

Secretary-General Kofi Annan listed the five in a letter to the Security Council, which had requested the Group's re-establishment and specified that the team update the sanctions committee on its work by 10 November and report to the Council in writing, through the committee, before 10 January.

The experts are Ibra Deguène Ka of Senegal, who will chair the Group, Joseph Andre Jacques Buisson of Canada, Rico Carisch of Switzerland, Abdoulaye Cissoko of Mali and Jean Luc Gallet of France.