DR Congo + 3 more

Ebola and Marburg fevers - Annual Epidemiological Report for 2015

Originally published
View original


Key facts

  • No cases of Ebola viral haemorrhagic fever and Marburg haemorrhagic fever infections were reported in EU/EEA countries in 2015.


This report is based on data for 2015 retrieved from The European Surveillance System (TESSy) on 12 December 2016 and additional information from epidemic intelligence. TESSy is a system for the collection, analysis and dissemination of data on communicable diseases. EU Member States and EEA countries contribute to the system by uploading their infectious disease surveillance data at regular intervals [1].

An overview of the national surveillance systems is available online [2].

A subset of the data used for this report is available through the interactive Surveillance atlas of infectious diseases [3].

For 2015, 27 EU/EEA Member States reported Ebola/Marburg data to TESSy. Nineteen countries use the EU case definition, four countries (the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany and the United Kingdom) used different case definitions, and Belgium, Cyprus, Finland and France did not specify the case definition they used.
Reporting is compulsory in 25 countries, and ‘not specified’ in Cyprus and Latvia. Surveillance is comprehensive (‘not specified’ in Cyprus) and mostly passive (22 countries, except for the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Portugal and the United Kingdom; ‘not specified’ in Cyprus) [2]. Reporting is case based and conducted at the national level.