DR Congo

DR Congo: A new government appointed to restore State authority in east

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original
About one month after the resignation of Antoine Gizenga, a new government was formed Sunday in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, with Adolphe Muzito as Prime Minister, appointed on 10 October. The new team has been assigned the essential missions of restoring security and the State's authority in the east of the country. .

The new government comprises 54 members: 3 deputy Prime Ministers, 37 Ministers and 13 deputy Ministers. Most of them are drawn from the Alliance de la majority présidentielle (AMP, Presidential Majority Alliance) and the Parti Lumumbiste Unifié (PALU, Unified Lumumbist Party). The team comprises five women (4 Ministers and 1 deputy Minister)

According to the presidential decree that appoints it, the new executive is chiefly tasked with missions of security, reconstruction and social wellbeing. These three key areas have been placed under the respective responsibilities of three deputy Prime Ministers, namely François-Joseph Nzanga Mobutu (Basic Social Needs), Mutombo Bakafuasenda (Security and Defence) and Emile Bongeli (Reconstruction).

The most important posts, such as those dealing with Security, Reconstruction and Economy, have been assigned to the Parti du people pour la reconstruction (PPRD, People's Party for Reconstruction), an influential member of the AMP.

The AMP has chosen Celestin Mbuyu to replace General Denis Kalume Numbi as Minister of the Interior, and has named Alexis Tambwe Mwamba head of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Outgoing Prime Minister Antoine Gizenga's PALU party retains the Ministries in control of the Mines and the Budget, with another of its members, Zephirin Mongongo, being promoted to Deputy Minister of the Interior.

Moreover, PPRD-AMP ministers Jeanine Mbunda for State Assets, Maker Mwangu Fuamba for Primary and Secondary Education, Adolphe Lumanu Mulenda for Relations with the Parliament, Athanase Matenda Kielu for Finance, Olivier Kamitatu for Planning, and Simon Kiamputu for Industry retain their posts.

Prime Minister Adolphe Muzito has respected regional balance by selecting four ministers from each of the country's 11 provinces.