Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC): Ebola virus disease outbreak - Emergency Plan of Action Operations Update n°3 (MDRCD026)


Description of the disaster

On 8 May 2018, the Ministry of Health (MoH) of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) officially declared a new outbreak of Ebola virus disease (EVD) in Equateur province, the 9th outbreak in the country’s history. The two affected health zones within Equateur Province (Bikoro and Iboko) were remote with limited communication and transportation infrastructure. The third affected health zone, Wangata, was more urban and included the capital of Equateur province, Mbandaka, which is an important port city with over 1.5 million inhabitants and active transportation connections to the Republic of Congo, Central African Republic (CAR), and Kinshasa.