Colombia + 1 more

DREF Operation MDRCO011 Update, Colombia: Population Movement - 18 December 2015

Situation Report
Originally published
View original


A. Situation Analysis

Description of Disaster

On 19 August 2015, the Venezuelan government declared a state of constitutional emergency; it was initially just for the municipality of the state of Tachira, but it was later extended to 23 additional municipalities in the states of Zulia and Apure, which border the Colombian departments of La Guajira, Norte de Santander, Arauca, and Vichada. Currently, border crossings between Colombia and Venezuela remain partially closed, limiting access to Venezuelans and Colombians with documentation supporting their residency. Furthermore, the Colombian government, via Decree 1770 of 7 September 2015, declared a state of economic, social, and ecological emergency in parts of Colombia, which still remains in effect.