Long term Planning Framework Chilean Red Cross 2012

Originally published
View original


  1. Americas Zone mission

The mission of the Americas Zone is to support Americas National Societies to increase humanitarian and development standards, helping them to remain relevant within their country and sustainable and accountable for their actions, guided by the implementation of Strategy 2020.

  1. National Society mission

a) The main objective of the Chilean Red Cross (ChRC) is to prevent and alleviate suffering, with complete impartiality, without discriminating against nationality, race, sex, religion, language, social class or other factors, concerning itself solely with suffering resulting from internal or external armed conflicts, in times of war or peace and in situations whereby the authorities so require, through exercising the respective mandates.

b) Prepare, in times of peace, to act in all fields foreseen by the 1949 Geneva Conventions and the Additional Protocols of 1977 and the III Additional Protocol of 2005, ratified by the Chilean government; to agreements of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Conferences, of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies’ General Assemblies, of the Council of Delegates and other International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement meetings in favour of all victims of war, civilian and military, collaborating with the authorities to protect the Red Cross, Red Crescent and Red Crystal emblems.

c) Develop its action to improve the quality of lives of the most vulnerable people, mobilizing the power of humanity. Vulnerable people are those that are at greater risk in situations where their lives and their capacity to live with minimum social and economic protection and human dignity are threatened.

d) Develop planned, systematic and integrated volunteer actions in regional committees and branches across the country, training volunteers through the national departments in community development with integrated plans and programmes in the areas of health, social well-being, risk management, psychosocial support, environmental protection and climate change.