Cameroon + 7 more

Central Africa Regional Representation: Plan 2009-2010 (MAA62001)

Originally published
View original


Executive summary

Based in Yaoundé, Cameroon, the Federation's Central Africa Regional Representation (CARREP) covers the following eight countries: Cameroon, Central African Republic (CAR), Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), the Republic of Congo (RoC), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Sao Tome and Principe. However, the DRC and Chad have country representations and thus separate plans.

A joint plan has been prepared for Cameroon, CAR, RoC, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Sao Tome and Principe because:

- their priorities, objectives and needs are similar

- advantages linked to coordination facilities

- technical support can be provided by the Regional Representation in Yaoundé

The Central African region has been afflicted for many years by epidemics, endemic diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and conflicts that often led to significant population displacements or created situations of vulnerability which affected underprivileged communities incapable of self-sustenance (women, children, old persons and rural communities in general). Recently, the increasingly high cost of living has added a further burden to Central African populations. Since it is the mandate of the Red Cross to alleviate the suffering of vulnerable people, the Central Africa National Societies have decided to respond to these situations as their priority for the next two years (2009-2010). However, the National Societies lack sufficient capacity to assist all vulnerable people. They are planning to carry out activities in the areas of disaster management, health and care, organisational development and promotion of humanitarian values, which are all in line with the Federation's Global Agenda and aim to improve the living conditions of vulnerable population in Central Africa.

The target beneficiaries of this plan will include the six National Societies listed above, their volunteers and workers, and the communities of people made vulnerable by various diseases, disasters and other threats in all identified risk zones. The activities will be carried out both in rural and urban areas, and there will be no discrimination as far as age, gender and other personal considerations are concerned. Special attention will be focused on the most vulnerable people, including women, children and other people affected by all sorts of discrimination. Red Cross volunteers and workers will receive focused trainings which will contribute to improve their operational capacities. Through the smooth implementation of this plan, the Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Central African Republic, Republic of the Congo and Sao Tome and Principe National Societies will become well-prepared National Societies. In order to achieve a better impact of Red Cross intervention, target beneficiaries will always participate in the design, implementation and monitoring of programmes.

The total 2009-2010 budget is CHF 9,037,139 (USD 8,260,639 or EUR 5,756,139)