Côte d'Ivoire

Declaration by the EU Presidency on Côte d'Ivoire

Brussels, 19 February 2003 - The European Union urges all parties, in particular the Ivorian authorities, to implement immediately the Linas-Marcoussis Agreement, which the United Nations Security Council endorsed by Resolution 1464 of 4 February 2003. In that context, the European Union would stress the need for all concerned to maintain a safe and stable environment.
The European Union would like the Prime Minister, Mr Seydou Diarra, to be given the full support of all Ivorian parties in the work of forming a government, so that it can swiftly embark on the task of achieving reconciliation and an end to the crisis. The European Union accordingly calls on all forces involved in this process to avoid taking any steps that might endanger the national reconciliation process under way.

The European Union would reiterate the firm commitment of the entire international community to full implementation of the undertakings given in Linas-Marcoussis and confirmed at the Paris Summit.

In this connection, the European Union welcomes the role played by the Economic Community of West African States, the African Union and the United Nations in promoting a return to peace and reconciliation in Côte d'Ivoire.

As an observer of the Linas-Marcoussis Agreement and a participant in the Paris Summit on 25 and 26 January, the European Union will, by virtue of its position within the Follow-Up Committee, be playing an active role, in particular by monitoring application of the terms of reference for the Agreement, and calls on all participants to lend their full cooperation to the Follow-Up Committee.

The European Union emphasises its commitment to supporting implementation of the Linas-Marcoussis Agreement, using all appropriate instruments at its disposal.

The Acceding Countries Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, the Slovak Republic and Slovenia, the Associated Countries Bulgaria, Romania and Turkey and the EFTA countries [Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway], members of the European Economic Area align themselves with this declaration.