Burundi + 3 more

Report of the Peacebuilding Commission on its second session (A/63/92-S/2008/417)

UN Document
Originally published
View original


General Assembly
Sixty-third session
Item 10 of the preliminary list*
Report of the Peacebuilding Commission

Security Council
Sixty-third year

I. Introduction

1. The present report has been prepared pursuant to General Assembly resolution 60/180 and Security Council resolution 1645 (2005), in which the Peacebuilding Commission was requested to submit an annual report to the General Assembly for an annual debate and review. The report will also be submitted to the Security Council, pursuant to its resolution 1646 (2005), for an annual debate. The report reviews the work of the Peacebuilding Commission during its second session, from 23 June 2007 to 22 June 2008.

II. Work of the Commission

2. At the beginning of the reporting period, the Commission elected its new Chairperson, Yukio Takasu (Japan); and Vice-Chairpersons, Carmen Gallardo Hernandez (El Salvador) and Leslie Kojo Christian (Ghana). The Burundi and Sierra Leone configurations were chaired by Johan L. Løvald (Norway) and Frank Majoor (Netherlands), respectively. The nomination of Maria Luiza R. Viotti (Brazil) as Chair of the Guinea-Bissau configuration was endorsed by the Organizational Committee on 19 December 2007. The nomination of Jan Grauls (Belgium) as Chair of the country-specific configuration for the Central African Republic was also endorsed by the Organizational Committee on 12 June 2008. The Working Group on Lessons Learned was chaired by El Salvador. The various configurations, including the Organizational Committee, met regularly and addressed issues pertaining to their respective areas of competence.

* A/63/50.