Eastern Africa and Indian Ocean Islands Region Representation Office Long Term Planning Framework 2012-2015 Version 2

  1. Who are we?

The IFRC Regional Representation for Eastern Africa and Indian Ocean Islands, as part of the IFRC Africa Zone, supports National Societies (NS) to train and mobilise volunteers to respond to emergencies and to make communities more resilient to risks. It aims to make this work sustainable by bringing evidence-based cases of the benefits of Red Cross/Red Crescent volunteer action to new and existing stakeholders in the humanitarian and development sector.

The Regional Representation serves the National Societies of Burundi, Djibouti, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, South Sudan, Sudan, Eritrea, Madagascar, Seychelles, Somalia, Ethiopia, Mauritius, Comoros Island and Uganda and acts as a hub for technical support and operations coordination for the wider Eastern Africa Region (that includes the Horn of Africa and Indian Ocean Islands.).

The Representation is made up of two units: i) a Technical Support Unit (TSU) led by a Programme Coordinator and consisting of advisors on disaster preparedness and response; risk reduction; health; food security; water and sanitation; humanitarian diplomacy including beneficiary communication and public relations; planning, monitoring, evaluation and reporting; and resource mobilization;, and ii) a Support Services Unit made up of: administration; logistics; Information Technology; human resources; security and finance. A strong emphasis has been placed on recruiting and maintaining top class national and international staff to support IFRC’s mission in the region.