Burundi + 6 more

East Africa: Appeal No. MAA64001 Mid-Year Report

Originally published
View original


This report covers the period 01/01/2010 to


In brief

The 2010 plan was prepared based on the initial structure of the region known as the Eastern Africa Zone (EAZ) that comprised 14 National Societies (NS) - Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. Following the restructuring process in Africa, three former Africa zones (Eastern Africa, Southern Africa as well as the Western and Central Africa Zone were merged into one zone. The former East Africa region now has country representations in Somalia, Sudan, Eritrea and Ethiopia and two regional representations, the Indian Ocean Islands and East Africa. This report covers regional programmes and activities implemented in five countries directly supported by the IFRC East Africa Regional Representation office.

Programme outcome:

In line with the Strategic aims of the Strategy 2020, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent's (IFRC) East Africa Regional Representation office aims to support strong and functional National Societies (NS) with programmes contributing to saving lives, protecting livelihoods, strengthened recovery from disasters and crises, health and safe living, social inclusion and a culture of non-violence and peace.

The disaster management (DM) programme aims at building well prepared, stronger and more efficient NS able to predict, prevent, reduce risks and respond to the high level of humanitarian demands in the region posed by small and medium-scale disasters, mitigate their impact as well as cope with their consequences in an appropriate manner.

The health and social services programme focus is to ensure that vulnerability to HIV and AIDS and its impact is reduced through preventing further infection, expanding care, treatment and support, and reducing stigma and discrimination. In addition, ensuring strong water and sanitation (WatSan) projects and capacity to respond to health emergencies at NS level.