Armenia + 1 more

Statement by the Co-Chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, 5 October 2020

News and Press Release
Originally published
View original

MOSCOW / PARIS / WASHINGTON, D.C., October 5, 2020 - The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation Sergey Lavrov, Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs of France Jean-Yves Le Drian, and Secretary of State of the United States of America Michael R. Pompeo, representing the Co-Chair countries of the OSCE Minsk Group, condemn in the strongest terms the unprecedented and dangerous escalation of violence in and outside of the Nagorno-Karabakh zone.

The Ministers stress unconditionally that recent attacks allegedly targeting civilian centers - both along the Line of Contact and on the territories of Azerbaijan and Armenia outside the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict zone - and the disproportionate nature of such attacks constitute an unacceptable threat to the stability of the region.

Recalling the October 1 statement of the Heads of State of the three Co-Chair countries of the OSCE Minsk Group, the Ministers call once again upon the conflicting parties to accept an immediate and unconditional ceasefire. The Co-Chairing countries are determined to exercise fully their mandate, entrusted to them by the OSCE and the international community, with the contribution of the Minsk Group capitals. As such, they will firmly continue to advance their engagement with the sides, and urge them to commit now to resuming the settlement process on the basis of existing core principles and relevant international documents well-known by both parties.


United States Mission to the OSCE
Wagramerstrasse 17-19
1220 Vienna
Office: +43 1 31 339
Fax: +43 1 396 1585

Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the OSCE
Erzherzog Karl Str. 182
1220 Vienna
Office: +43 1 280 27 62
Office: +43 1 283 69 92
Fax: +43 1 280 31 90

Permanent Representation of France to the OSCE
Schwarzenbergplatz 16
1010 Vienna
Office: +43 1 501 82 0
Office: +43 1 501 82 555
Fax: +43 1 501 82 509