Armenia + 1 more

Statement by the Co-Chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, 2 October 2020

MOSCOW / PARIS / WASHINGTON, D.C., October 2, 2020 - The Co-Chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group (Igor Popov of the Russian Federation, Stéphane Visconti of France, and Andrew Schofer of the United States of America) released the following statement today:

The Co-Chairs strongly condemn the continued violence in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict zone as well as against targets in the territory of Armenia and Azerbaijan away from the Line of Contact, and express our alarm at reports of increasing civilian casualties. Targeting or threatening civilians is never acceptable under any circumstances. The Co-Chairs call on the sides to observe fully their international obligations to protect civilian populations.

The Co-Chairs also stress that participation in the escalating violence by external parties undermines efforts to achieve lasting peace in the region.

Recalling the October 1 statement of the Presidents of the three Co-Chair countries, the Co-Chairs once again call for an immediate cessation of hostilities and the resumption of substantive negotiations, in good faith and without preconditions.

The Co-Chairs also call urgently for an immediate humanitarian ceasefire to enable the repatriation of remains of fallen servicemen in coordination with the OSCE and ICRC.


Permanent Representation of France to the OSCE
Schwarzenbergplatz 16
1010 Vienna
Office: +43 1 501 82 0
Office: +43 1 501 82 555
Fax: +43 1 501 82 509

United States Mission to the OSCE
Wagramerstrasse 17-19
1220 Vienna
Office: +43 1 31 339
Fax: +43 1 396 1585

Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the OSCE
Erzherzog Karl Str.182
1220 Vienna
Office: +43 1 280 27 62
Office: +43 1 283 69 92
Fax: +43 1 280 31 90