Angola - Flash floods update (Civil Protection of Angola, NOAA-CPC, media) (ECHO Daily Flash of 08 January 2020)

View original

The provinces of Luanda, Luanda Sul, Luanda Norte, Bié, Benguela, Huambo, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Malanje, Namibe, Uíge and Zaire have been affected by floods and flash floods. According to the civil protection authorities of Angola, as of 10 January, 41 people died and 11,190 people have been affected. More than 2,400 houses have been damaged or destroyed, 12 churches destroyed and 4 bridges damaged. For the next 24 hours, heavy rain is forecast across western, central and northern provinces.