Long Term Planning Framework 2012-2015: Asia Pacific Zone

  1. Who are we?

The 37 national Red Cross and Red Crescent (RCRC) societies in Asia Pacific work to help the most vulnerable groups in their respective countries who are most affected by disasters and socio-economic and health crises. With their widespread network of grassroots members and volunteers, they seek to address the needs of the most vulnerable people in disaster and non-disaster situations.

The Asia Pacific zone of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) comprises the zone office in Kuala Lumpur, four regional offices in Suva (Pacific), Bangkok (Southeast Asia), Delhi (South Asia) and Beijing (East Asia) and 15 country offices, adopting a “best-positioned” strategy to support the national societies in the zone according to their needs. Through this decentralized management structure, the Asia Pacific zone office directs the work of the regional and country offices.

The zone office in Kuala Lumpur is organized into three core teams. The Operations team comprises: disaster management; health and care; international disaster response laws, rules and principles (IDRL); logistics; planning, monitoring, evaluation and reporting (PMER); information systems and technology; and security. The Humanitarian Diplomacy team consists of: external relations/humanitarian diplomacy; resource mobilisation and relationship management; and communications. The Support Services team includes: organizational development, youth action and volunteering; human resources; finance; legal; and administration. All the teams have zone-wide functions across IFRC regional and country offices in the Asia Pacific.